List of Universities offering Medical Laboratory Science in Nigeria 2024

List of Universities offering Medical Laboratory Science in Nigeria 2024

Medical Laboratory Science is a department within the College of Medicine at Nigerian University. The program takes five years to complete, followed by one year of internship and the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC).

According to the Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria (MLSCN), 33 universities in Nigeria offer degrees in Medical Laboratory Science. However, no polytechnics in Nigeria offer this course.

Medical Laboratory Science is a promising field in Nigeria, with good career prospects. The profession is regulated by the MLSCN to ensure high standards.

If you’re interested in the course content, you can check out the Medical Laboratory Science curriculum for Nigerian universities.

In this post, you’ll find a list of Federal, State, and Private Universities in Nigeria that offer degrees in Medical Laboratory Science.

Grab a chilled glass of water and keep reading…..

ALSO READ: Polytechnics That Offer Medical Laboratory Science In Nigeria

List of Universities that offer Medical Laboratory Science as a course

The following are the list of universities that offer Medical Laboratory Science as a course and they include:

Universities in Nigeria Offering Medical Laboratory Science (MLS)

Medical Laboratory Science (MLS) is a popular field of study in Nigeria, and many universities across the country offer programs in this area.

Here’s an easy-to-read guide to the universities offering MLS in Nigeria, grouped by federal, state, and private institutions.

Federal Universities Offering Medical Laboratory Science

These federal universities are run by the Nigerian government and offer Medical Laboratory Science programs:

  1. University of Lagos (UNILAG) – Located in Lagos.
  2. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Nnewi (UNIZIK) – Located in Anambra.
  3. University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus (UNEC) – Located in Enugu.
  4. University of Calabar (UNICAL) – Located in Cross River.
  5. Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto (UDUS) – Located in Sokoto.
  6. University of Benin (UNIBEN) – Located in Edo.
  7. University of Jos (UNIJOS) – Located in Plateau.
  8. University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID) – Located in Borno.
  9. Bayero University, Kano (BUK) – Located in Kano.
  10. University of Ibadan (UI) – Located in Oyo.
  11. Federal University, Oye-Ekiti (FUOYE) – Located in Ekiti.
  12. University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) – Located in Kwara.
  13. University of Uyo (UNIUYO) – Located in Akwa Ibom.
  14. University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT) – Located in Rivers

State Universities Offering Medical Laboratory Science

State universities are managed by state governments. Here are those offering MLS:

  1. Ladoke Akintola University, Osogbo (LAUTECH) – Located in Osun.
  2. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki (EBSU) – Located in Ebonyi.
  3. Imo State University, Owerri (IMSU) – Located in Imo.
  4. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma (AAU) – Located in Edo.
  5. Niger-Delta University (NDU) – Located in Bayelsa.
  6. Rivers State University (RSU) – Located in Rivers.
  7. Abia State University, Uturu (ABSU) – Located in Abia.
  8. Kwara State University, Malete (KWASU) – Located in Kwara.
  9. Edo University, Iyamho – Located in Edo.
  10. Enugu State University of Science & Technology (ESUT) – Located in Enugu.
  11. University of Medical Sciences, Ondo (UNIMED) – Located in Ondo.
  12. Delta State University (DELSU) – Located in Delta.
  13. Lagos State University (LASU) – Located in Lagos.
  14. University of Ilesa – Located in Osun.
  15. Prince Abubakar Audu University – Located in Kogi.

Private Universities Offering Medical Laboratory Science

Private universities are run by private entities and also offer Medical Laboratory Science programs. Here’s the list:

  1. Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin – Located in Ondo.
  2. Adeleke University, Ede – Located in Osun.
  3. Bowen University, Iwo – Located in Osun.
  4. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin – Located in Kwara.
  5. Pamo University of Medical Sciences, Port Harcourt – Located in Rivers.
  6. Evangel University, Akaeze – Located in Ebonyi.
  7. Achievers University, Owo – Located in Ondo.
  8. Igbinedion University, Okada – Located in Edo.
  9. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Located in Ekiti.
  10. Babcock University, Ilisan-Remo – Located in Oyo.
  11. Madonna University, Elele – Located in Rivers.
  12. Fountain University – Located in Osun.
  13. Lead City University – Located in Oyo.
  14. Pamo University of Medical Sciences – Located in Rivers.


Nigeria’s list of universities offering Medical Laboratory Science encompasses a wide range of reputable institutions.

These schools are recognized for their comprehensive programs and experienced faculty, providing the skills and knowledge necessary for a career in medical science.

Selecting a university from this list can set the foundation for a successful path in healthcare.

ALSO READ: List Of School Of Nursing In Nigeria and Their Fees 2024

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights